Click to listen

Planning documents

will be unavailable from 4.30pm Friday 24 to Sunday 26 November due to essential maintenance

School holidays

School holidays 2018/19

2018/19

These dates were approved in September 2017.

Types of holiday listed by month Holiday dates
August 2018
Teachers return on Tuesday 14 August 2018

All pupils return on Thursday 16 August 2018

(including P1 pupils attending for full day)

In-service day - all schools Tuesday 14 and Wednesday 15 August 2018
September 2018

September weekend

Friday 21 and Monday 24 September 2018

Pupils return on Tuesday 25 September 2018

October 2018

October break

Monday 15 to Friday 19 October 2018

Pupils return on Monday 22 October 2018

In-service day - all schools Monday 19 November 2018
December 2018 and January 2019

Christmas/New Year

Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 21 December 2018

Schools re-open on Monday 7 January 2019

February 2019
February break Monday 11 and Tuesday 12 February 2019
In-service day - all schools Wednesday 13 February 2019
March/April 2019
Spring break

Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 29 March 2019*

Schools re-open on Monday 15 April 2019

Easter Friday 19 April 2019 and Monday 22 April 2019
May 2019
May Day Monday 6 May 2019
In-service day - all schools Tuesday 7 May 2019
Local holiday Friday 24 and Monday 27 May 2019**
June 2019
Summer break Schools close at 1pm on Friday 28 June 2019

* Good Friday falls on Friday 19 April 2019

** Lanark schools will close on 6 and 7 June 2019

Pupils attend school for 190 days and teachers attend for 195 days.

Related content

  1. School holidays 2017 - 2019
  2. School holidays 2018/19