Click to listen

Candidates announced for General Election

Published Thursday, 11 May 2017

Elections 2017 general logo

South Lanarkshire's candidates standing at the UK Parliamentary General Elections have been announced.

Following today's deadline at 4pm for the submission of nominations, the candidates standing for the three Constituencies in the South Lanarkshire area at the General Election on Thursday 8 June 2017 are:

Lanark and Hamilton East County Constituency

  • Poppy Corbett - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Angela Crawley - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Andrew Hilland - Scottish Labour Party
  • Donald MacKay - UKIP
  • Colin Robb - Scottish Liberal Democrats

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow County Constituency

  • Lisa Cameron - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Janice MacKay - UKIP
  • Monique McAdams - Scottish Labour Party
  • Paul McGarry - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Mark McGeever - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Rutherglen and Hamilton West Burgh Constituency

  • Robert Edward Brown - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Andy Dixon – Independent
  • Margaret Ferrier - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Gerard Killen - Labour and Co-operative Party
  • Ann Le Blond - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Caroline Santos - UKIP

Please note - part of the Clydesdale area is within the Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale County Constituency which is administered by Dumfries and Galloway Council.

Clydesdale and Tweeddale County Constituency

  • Douglas Beattie - Scottish Labour Party
  • John Ferry - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Máiri McAllan - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • David Gordon Mundell - Scottish Conservative and Unionist


The list of candidates standing for all four constituencies and other documents for the General Election are posted on our Statutory notices and documents page.