Click to listen

Scottish Youth Parliament elections

Published Monday, 24 July 2017

Sl syp group

We are delighted to inform you of the success in electing the 9 constituent members for South Lanarkshire.

In excess of 7,000 votes were cast across South Lanarkshire.  Of the elected young people, 7 have never been MSYPs and 2 are returning.  Our members are raring to go and getting out and about to meet with young people in their communities since taking up their positions officially in June 2017.

The Scottish Youth Parliament represents Scotland’s young people and are locally supported through Education Resources, Youth Learning Service.  Their vision for Scotland is of a nation that actively listens to and values the meaningful participation of its children and young people.  Their goal is to make this vision a reality, in order to ensure Scotland is the best place in the world to grow up.

The representatives are:

Rutherglen Constituency
Amy Lee Fraioli
Taylor Reid

Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse
Callum Speirs
Becky Gillan

East Kilbride
Faith Sindick
Chloe Carmichael

Reece Harding
Kyle Slater

Uddingston and Bellshill
Katie Talent

Taking the helm of SYP is Chair Amy Lee Fraioli, Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYP) for Rutherglen.

Amy Lee, having served three years as an MSYP for Rutherglen from 2013-17, was recognised for her hard work with being presented with the ‘MSYP of the Year Award’ at SYP’s annual awards ceremony in March 2017.

In taking up this position, Chair, Amy Lee, said: “I’m delighted to have been elected to lead the Scottish Youth Parliament at a very exciting time in the charity’s history. The fact that the Board is comprised of MSYPs hailing from all over Scotland – including three island-based members - is evidence that SYP continues to be diverse and representative of young people in this country.

 “SYP has so much to be proud of, and I’m looking forward to getting to work to ensure the voices of Scotland’s young people are heard, loud and clear, by our decision-makers.”

Also celebrating success, first time MSYP Chloe Carmichael has taken on the position of deputy convener of the Health and Wellbeing committee within the Scottish Youth Parliament.

For more information about the Scottish Youth Parliament locally, please contact Ronnie Crichton of Youth Learning Services by email: or by phone: 01698 552123.

If you wish to contact your local MSYP then please email or follow us on Facebook.

Back row - Kyle Slater, (Ronnie Crichton - support worker), Reece Harding, Taylor Reid, and Becky Gillan
Front row - Faith Sindick, Amy Lee Fraioli, Callum Speirs, Chloe Carmichael, and Katie Talent.