Active Schools from South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture

Link to the Twitter feed Latest Tweets Follow on twitter

South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture Facebook
South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture Vimeo
@South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture Twitter
Home | Homepage news

South Lanarkshire Schools Sporting Success!

Published: Friday, 11 October 2019

South Lanarkshire Schools Sporting Success!

South Lanarkshire Schools Sporting Success!

Recently, 10 South Lanarkshire’s schools were awarded sportscotland’s prestigious GOLD School Sport Award.   The sportscotland School Sport Award is a national, Lottery funded initiative designed to encourage schools to continuously improve physical education (PE) and school sport opportunities.

The School Sport Award has an extended application process which asks schools to demonstrate their commitment towards identifying current strengths and areas for improvement in PE and Schools Sport.     

Congratulations to the following schools for being awarded GOLD award;

Calderglen High School, Stonelaw High School, Crosshouse Primary School, Burgh Primary School ,Canberra Primary School , Carstairs Primary School, Mount Cameron Primary School, Newton Farm Primary School, St Hilary’s Primary School, and St John the Baptist Primary School

Well done to the following schools who attained the SILVER award;

Auchengray Primary School, Bothwell Primary School, Burnside Primary School, Carmichael Primary School, Chatelherault Primary School, Coalburn Primary School, Greenhills Primary School, James Aiton Primary School, Kirktonholme Primary School, Larkhall Academy, Lesmahagow High School, Loch Primary School, Maxwellton Primary School, New Lanark Primary School, Our Lady of Lourdes Primary School, Parkview Primary School, St Cadoc’c Primary School, South Park Primary School, St Elizabeth’s, St John’s Primary, St Vincent’s and Woodpark Primary.

Well done to the following schools who were awarded the BRONZE award;

Bankhead Primary School, David Livingstone Memorial Primary School, Mossneuk Primary School, Rigside Primary School and St Cuthbert’s Primary School.  

For more information about the sportscotland School Sport Awards please visit

Twitter: @ActiveSchoolsSL  

title="@South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture Twitter"