e.g. school holidays, council tax, jobs, housing benefit - Advanced

East Kilbride Central North By-election Thursday 29 August 2019

East Kilbride Central North (Ward 8) By-election Thursday 29 August 2019

Grant Ferguson has been elected to serve as one of the councillors to represent Ward 8 - East Kilbride Central North.

Following the close of poll at 10pm on Thursday 29 August 2019 the votes were counted to determine which of the following seven candidates would be elected:

  • Grant Ferguson - Scottish National Party (SNP) - 1582
  • Graham William Fisher - Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 498
  • Antony Lee - Scottish Green Party - 153
  • David MacKay - UKIP - 48
  • Paul McGarry - Scottish Liberal Democrats - 422
  • Stephen McNamara - Scottish Libertarian Party - 12
  • Kirsty Williams - Scottish Labour Party - 690

The total number of votes cast were 3456. There were 51 rejected papers so there were 3405 valid votes.

In this by election, there was one seat to fill, so the winning candidate therefore needed to receive 50% plus 1 of the total valid votes – a quota of 1703.

Grant Ferguson was duly elected at stage 5.

The turnout was 26.7% from a total electorate of 12,960.

For full details of the vote please go to our statutory notices and documents.

At council elections voters use numbers to elect Councillors for the ward they live in - this is called the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.