e.g. school holidays, council tax, jobs, housing benefit - Advanced

UK Parliamentary general election - Thursday 12 December 2019

The UK Parliamentary general elections are to be held on Thursday 12 December 2019 with voting taking place between 7am and 10pm.

There are three constituencies in the South Lanarkshire area:

  • Lanark and Hamilton East County Constituency
  • East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow County Constituency
  • Rutherglen and Hamilton West Burgh Constituency

Part of the Clydesdale area is within the Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale County Constituency which is administered by Dumfries and Galloway Council.

Statutory notices relating to this election are available to view.

Register to vote

Registered voters’ poll cards will be sent out around Wednesday 20 November.

If you are already registered to vote and are on the electoral register in South Lanarkshire you do not need to re-register.

To vote in this election, eligible voters must be aged 18 or over and must be registered to vote by Tuesday 26 November.

You can register to vote online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

For more information about how to register and the different ways of voting go to our Registering and voting page.

Key dates

Event Date
Publication of notice of election Friday 8 November 2019
Deadline for delivery of nomination papers between 10am to 4pm on any weekday from Monday 11 November but no later than Thursday 14 November (4pm)
Deadline for receiving applications for registration Tuesday 26 November (midnight)
Deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes Tuesday 26 November (5pm)
Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies) Wednesday 4 December (5pm)
First date that electors can apply for a replacement for lost postal votes  Friday 6 December
Polling day Thursday 12 December
Last time that electors can apply for re-issue of spoilt or lost postal votes Thursday 12 December (5pm)
Deadline for emergency proxy applications Thursday 12 December (5pm)
Last time to alter the register due to clerical error or court appeal Thursday 12 December (9pm)
Count    Thursday 12 December (10pm)

Who will be elected?

Using the first-past-the-post voting system, voters will put a cross (X) next to their preferred option. For the South Lanarkshire area there will be three MPs elected, one to represent each of the three constituencies. The votes will be verified and manually counted on Thursday 12 December at the John Wright Sports Centre, Calderwood Road, East Kilbride G74 3EU

More information

Useful websites

Contact us

Electoral Registration Office - for information on registering to vote, postal and proxy voting arrangements

Election Office - for information on election administration arrangements

Media enquiries - including requests for passes to attend the count