Launch Recite Me assistive technology myaccountMyAccount login image

Education Resources

Schools and educational establishments


Education Resources is responsible for 123 primary schools, 19 secondary schools and 5 additional support needs schools. These are grouped into 17 learning communities across the four main areas of South Lanarkshire:

  • Cambuslang and Rutherglen
  • Clydesdale
  • East Kilbride
  • Hamilton

Each area is managed by a Head of Education (Area). The objectives and priorities set out in the Education Resources plan also feature in school improvement plans.  A key priority for schools and establishments is the implementation of a Curriculum for Excellence.

Early Years

We have 59 nursery classes based in our schools and 12 community nursery centres/schools. Nursery education is also delivered in partnership with 56 partner nursery providers. 

Additional Support Needs

The Inclusion Service is responsible for eight additional support needs schools and 22 additional support needs bases/units. The Inclusion Service is also responsible for the Psychological Service, Integrating Children's Services, Youth Learning Service and the Community Learning and Home School Partnership Service.

Youth centres

There are 10 Universal Connections youth centres, which are managed by the Youth Learning Service in conjunction with external partners. These centres provide a wide range of learning programmes and activities for young people.

Community Learning and Home School Partnership

The Community Learning and the Home School Service offer interesting courses locally for all adults and families.