Launch Recite Me assistive technology myaccountMyAccount login image

Our online Council Tax services

(myaccount and some online forms) will be unavailable from 12pm Friday 1 March until Tuesday 5 March due to annual billing

School holidays

2023/24 school holidays (approved)

Please note that these school holiday and in-service dates were approved by the Education Resources Committee on 15 November 2022.

Types of holiday listed by month Holiday dates
August 2023
Teachers return on Monday 14 August 2023

 

In-service days - all schools Monday 14 and Tuesday 15 August 2023
Pupils return to school Wednesday 16 August 2023
September 2023

September weekend

Friday 22 and Monday 25 September 2023

October 2023

October break

Monday 16 to Friday 20 October 2023

Pupils return on Monday 23 October 2023

November 2023
In-service day - all schools

Monday 13 November 2023

December 2023 and January 2024

Christmas/New Year

Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 22 December 2023

Schools re-open on Monday 8 January 2024

February 2024
February break

Monday 12 and Tuesday 13 February 2024

In-service day - all schools

Wednesday 14 February 2024

March/April 2024
Spring break/Easter

Schools close at 2.30pm on Thursday 28 March 2024*

Schools re-open on Monday 15 April 2024

May 2024
In-service day - all schools Thursday 2 May 2024
May day Monday 6 May 2024
Local holiday Friday 24 and Monday 27 May 2024**
June 2024
Summer break Schools close at 1pm on Wednesday 26 June 2024

* Good Friday falls on Friday 29 March 2024

** Lanark schools will close on 6 and 7 June 2024

Pupils attend school for 190 days and teachers attend for 195 days.

Related content

  1. 2023/24 school holidays (approved)
  2. 2024/25 school holidays (approved)