Licensing and Registrations

Our online application/appointment booking systems and licensing register will be unavailable on Wednesday 13 November

e.g. school holidays, council tax, jobs, housing benefit - Advanced

School holidays

2019/20 school holidays

School holiday dates for 2020/21 have been approved:

 

Types of holiday listed by month Holiday dates
August 2019
Teachers return on Tuesday 13 August 2019

All pupils return on Thursday 15 August 2019

(including P1 pupils attending for full day)

In-service day - all schools Tuesday 13 and Wednesday 14 August 2019
September 2019

September weekend

Friday 27 and Monday 30 September 2019

Pupils return on Tuesday 1 October 2019

October 2019

October break

Monday 14 to Friday 18 October 2019

Pupils return on Monday 21 October 2019

November 2019
In-service day - all schools

Monday 18 and Tuesday 19 November 2019

December 2019 and January 2020

Christmas/New Year

Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 20 December 2019

Schools re-open on Monday 6 January 2020

February 2020
In-service day - all schools Friday 7 February 2020
February break Monday 10 and Tuesday 11 February 2020
In-service day - all schools Wednesday 12 February 2020
March/April 2020
Spring break/Easter

Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 3 April 2020*

Schools re-open on Monday 20 April 2020

May 2020
In-service day - all schools Thursday 7 May 2020
May Day Friday 8 May 2020
Local holiday Friday 22 and Monday 25 May 2020**
June 2020
Summer break Schools close at 1pm on Wednesday 24 June 2020

Proposed teacher return - 2020/21 session

Tuesday 11 August 2020

Proposed pupil return - 2020/21 session

Thursday 13 August 2020

* Good Friday falls on Friday 10 April 2020

** Lanark schools will close on 11 and 12 June 2020

Pupils attend school for 188 days and teachers attend for 195 days.

Related content

  1. 2019/20 school holidays
  2. 2020/21 school holidays (approved)