Launch Recite Me assistive technology myaccountMyAccount login image

Places to visit

Clyde Valley Woodlands National Nature Reserve

The Clyde Valley Woodlands NNR (National Nature Reserve) is one of 55 national nature reserves in Scotland. 

The six woodlands that make up the reserve have survived over the centuries due to their protected location on steep river valleys. These ancient woodlands are nationally and internationally important sites with characteristic deciduous trees and ground vegetation supporting other wildlife.

Chatelherault Country Park and the Scottish Wildlife Trust's, Falls of Clyde Reserve are the main visitor sites of the NNR where access is easiest and facilities available. 

The four other sites within the NNR are:

  • Mauldslie Woods, near Rosebank - managed by South Lanarkshire Council
  • Nethan Gorge between Crossford and Craignethan Castle - managed by the Scottish Wildlife Trust
  • Cartland Craigs and Cleghorn Glen on the outskirts of Lanark - managed by Scottish Natural Heritage

Related content

  1. Places to visit
  2. Clyde Valley Woodlands National Nature Reserve
  3. Clyde Walkway