Launch Recite Me assistive technology myaccountMyAccount login image

Curriculum for Excellence

Curriculum for Excellence is the curriculum in Scotland which applies to all children and young people age 3-18, wherever they are learning.  It aims to raise achievement for all, enabling young people to develop the skills, knowledge and understanding they need to succeed in learning, life and work.

The aim is to make our education system fit for the modern world and improve young people's achievements, attainment and life chances; through enabling all young people to become successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors

Every child and young person in Scotland is entitled to experience a broad and general education from early years (aged 3) through to the end of S3.

The senior phase of education takes place during S4-S6 which provides opportunities to develop skills for learning, life and work and obtain qualifications. The new national qualifications are called Nationals.  To find out more we have produced an information leaflet for parents/carers.

There are eight curriculum areas containing a range of subjects, these are:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies

Experiences and Outcomes

Each curriculum area is broken down to a set of experiences and outcomes often referred to as the ‘Es and Os’.

  • Experience – describes the learning.
  • Outcomes – what the learning will achieve.  This can be explained, from the pupil’s perspective, as an ‘I can’ statement.

For further information on Curriculum for Excellence you can contact your child’s school or visit the following websites: