Council website will be unavailable

from 8.30am on Wednesday 10 August for essential maintenance for around an hour. We apologise for any inconvenience

Members of Parliament MPs

Following the UK Parliamentary General Election on Thursday 8 June 2017 the MPs for the four constituencies that fall within or partially within South Lanarkshire are as follows:

Lanark and Hamilton East Constituency - Angela Crawley (Scottish National Party)

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow Constituency - Dr Lisa Cameron (Scottish National Party)

Rutherglen and Hamilton West Constituency - Margaret Ferrier (Independent)

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale County Constituency - David Gordon Mundell (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

The UK Parliament:

Based at Westminster in London, it deals with a number of powers that have not been devolved to the Scottish Parliament.

These include the constitution, foreign policy, immigration and nationality, social security, defence and national security, fiscal and economic affairs, trade and industry, nuclear energy, oil, coal, gas and electricity, employment and some aspects of transport including road and rail safety.

The South Lanarkshire area falls into four UK parliamentary constituencies. If you are uncertain which UK Parliamentary Constituency you live in please insert your address below and click the local information button on the left. Scroll down to see UK Parliament.

The UK Parliamentary Constituencies falling within the South Lanarkshire area are:

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow

Lanark and Hamilton East

Rutherglen and Hamilton West