BSL Launch Recite Me assistive technology myaccountMyAccount login image

Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA)

Who are MAPPA Offenders?

There are different categories of offenders who are subject to MAPPA:

Category 1 - Registered Sex Offenders (RSOs)

Those offenders convicted of an offence listed in Schedule 3 to the Sexual Offences Act 2003 and required to comply with the sex offender notification requirements (SONR) set out in part 2 of the 2003 Act.  Those made subject to a Sexual Offences Prevention Order (SOPO), or are a breach of a Risk of Sexual Harm Order (RHSO).

Mentally Disordered Restricted Patients

This category of offender comprises those patients subject to specific orders or directions as a result of a mental disorder.

Category 2 - Not currently used in Scotland

Category 3 - Other Risk of Serious Harm Offenders

Offenders not required to comply with the SONR or are a mentally disordered restricted patient; who by reason of their conviction are subject to supervision in the community by any enactment, order or licence; are assessed by the responsible authorities as posing a high or very high risk of serious harm to the public which requires active multi-agency management at MAPPA level 2 or 3.