Click to listen

Members of South Lanarkshire Council

The people of South Lanarkshire elect 67 men and women who will represent them on the Council. The area is divided into 20 wards, each with three or four councillors.

Information on council meetings, committees and minutes are all available in our Councillors and Committees pages.

Here is the current political composition of South Lanarkshire Council.

And here are the councillors expenses for 2015-16.

Date of next election

The next Scottish Local Government elections will take place on 4 May 2017.

Election results

Here is a list of results and the breakdowns from the most recent Local Government elections:

Voting system

At council elections voters vote using numbers to elect Councillors for the ward they live in - this is called the Single Transferable Vote (STV). 

When you vote you number the candidates in the order of your choice. You can make as many choices as you wish. Put the number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is your first choice, 2 in the box next to your second choice, 3 in the box next to your third choice and so on. 

The three or four most preferred candidates for each of these large wards will be elected.  All councillors within the ward will have equal status.

You can watch our films on how to Register to Vote, Postal and Proxy Voting and At the polling station.

For more information on voting and elections visit the About My Vote website.