Community Councils

Community Council Elections - Thursday 27 October 2022

South Lanarkshire Community Council Elections

Notice is hereby given that the undernoted Community Councils have been instructed to proceed with an election in terms of South Lanarkshire Council’s Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils.

Cambuslang and Rutherglen area

  • Burnside
  • Cambuslang   
  • Halfway
  • Rutherglen

Clydesdale area

  • Biggar
  • Black Mount
  • Carluke 
  • Carmichael
  • Carnwath
  • Carstairs 
  • Crawford and Elvanfoot
  • Douglas
  • Duneaton 
  • Leadhills
  • Lesmahagow
  • Pettinain
  • Quothquan and Thankerton
  • Royal Burgh of Lanark
  • Symington
  • Tarbrax 

East Kilbride area

  • Auldhouse and Chapelton
  • East Mains
  • Jackton and Thorntonhall 
  • Murray
  • Sandford and Upper Avondale
  • St Leonard's
  • Strathaven and Glassford
  • Westwood

Hamilton area

  • Blantyre
  • Bothwell
  • Hillhouse
  • Larkhall
  • Meikle Earnock
  • Stonehouse

The elections will be held on Thursday 27 October 2022, or shortly thereafter, and existing members of Community Councils will cease to hold office at midnight on Wednesday 26 October 2022.  

Any person on the Register of Electors, for the area of the Community Council who seeks election to their Community Council, should lodge a nomination form signed by the prospective Community Councillor. The form should then be countersigned by a proposer and seconder, both of whom shall also be on the Register of Electors for the area.

Completed nominations forms should be returned to Administration and Legal Services at the address below no later than 4pm on Wednesday 14 September 2022.

Hard copy boundary maps of the Community Council areas and the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils are available on request by emailing or in writing:

Administration and Legal Services
Finance and Corporate Resources
Council Offices, Floor 2
Almada Street
Hamilton ML3 0AA

In the event of more nominations being received than vacancies available, an election will be held on a date to be determined by the council. Notification of any elections will be provided in due course.

Paul Manning
Executive Director
Finance and Corporate Resources