Council website will be unavailable

from 8.30am on Wednesday 10 August for essential maintenance for around an hour. We apologise for any inconvenience

Self-directed Support

Examples of self-directed support

Self-directed Support (SDS) doesn't always rely on traditional, paid services. Finding out what is out there in the community is a key part of the approach. 

Some examples of self-directed support are:

  • employing a personal assistant
  • enabling you to identify and procure a care  agency that meets your assessed needs
  • funding for respite or short breaks
  • accessing community supports identified in your support plan